Apps and comparisons

Best expense splitting apps in 2027: what each free plan includes

9 min read By The EvenOut team

Quick answer

For most groups, EvenOut is the best fit on the facts. As of October 2026, its free plan has no daily expense limit and no ads, while Splitwise's free plan allows up to 4 expenses a day and Settle Up's free version has ads. One EvenOut group holds 200 people, and a free KittySplit holds 9.

Key points

  • EvenOut's free plan has no daily expense limit and no ads. As of October 2026, Splitwise's free plan allows up to 4 expenses a day and Settle Up's free version has ads.
  • EvenOut's only paid features are receipt scanning and the assistant. Charts, search, repeats, reminders and the Splitwise import are free.
  • A group of 12 fits in EvenOut (200 people), Splitser (150) or Tricount (50). A free KittySplit holds 9 people.
  • Say a 3-day weekend has 14 expenses a day. That is 42 entries, and one person on Splitwise's free plan can add 12 of them.
On this page
  1. What does each free plan include?
  2. What do the paid plans cover?
  3. EvenOut: best for most groups, free with no daily limit and no ads
  4. Splitwise
  5. Tricount
  6. Settle Up
  7. Splid
  8. KittySplit
  9. Three more apps
  10. How do you choose?
  11. Frequently asked questions

What does each free plan include?

EvenOut’s free plan leaves out only receipt scanning and the assistant, while Splitwise’s free plan allows up to 4 expenses a day. As of October 2026, this is how nine apps compare on free-plan limits, ads and paid price.

App Limits and paid features Ads Paid price
EvenOut Receipt scanning and the assistant only. No daily expense limit; charts, search and repeats are free None $9.99 a month or $79.99 a year (US)
Splitwise 4 expenses a day, charts, search, currency conversion, receipt scanning Pro lists an ad-free app Pro: monthly, annual and Duo annual plans
Tricount No paid splitting tier, Premium was discontinued None, per its website Free (core app)
Settle Up Premium page lists recurring and future transactions, charts, reminders, receipt photos, Excel export Free version has ads Individual $3.49 a month or $18.99 a year, Group from $5.49 one-time per group (Premium page)
Splid Excel export Says it does not use your data for advertising Splid Plus $3.99 and 2 Groups $2.99 (US listing)
KittySplit Groups past 9 people, currency conversion, photo attachments Not stated Super Kitty at €2.99, once per group
Splitkaro Search, analytics, PDF export, receipt scans past 3 a month Premium lists an ad-free experience $4 a month or $15 a year (US page)
Spliit No paid tier None Free, paid for by donations
Splitser In-app payments carry a fee Not stated €0.35 per in-app payment

Prices are in the currency each company shows, and Settle Up’s row follows its Premium page. Splitwise Pro comes as a monthly plan, an annual plan with a Trip Pass and a Duo annual plan. Its terms say the price varies by country, date of subscription and promotions, so check the price shown at purchase.

What do the paid plans cover?

EvenOut’s paid plan covers two features, and the other three apps in this table list more (Settle Up’s list is from its Premium page). Each row shows what the paid plan adds and what the free plan keeps.

App Paid plan adds Still free (examples)
EvenOut Receipt scanning, the assistant Charts, search, repeats, reminders, Splitwise import, offline use, five split methods
Splitwise No daily limit, charts, search, currency conversion, receipt scanning, default splits, ad-free Simplify debts, recurring expenses, offline mode
Settle Up Ad removal, receipt photos, categories, recurring and future transactions, reminders, charts, Excel export Offline use, debt minimization
Splitkaro Search, custom categories, analytics, PDF export, ad-free, receipt scans past 3 a month Equal, shares, exact, percentage and item splits

EvenOut keeps charts (per group or friend) and search free, and Splitwise lists both under Pro. Receipt scanning is paid in both.

EvenOut: best for most groups, free with no daily limit and no ads

EvenOut’s free plan has no daily expense limit and no ads. Abuse guards that normal use does not reach still apply, such as 1,000 new expenses and payments a day. You choose one of five splits for each expense (equally, exact amounts, percent, shares or by item), and you can mix them inside one group.

Spending charts by category and over time are free, as is search that works offline across your groups. Repeats add rent or a subscription weekly, monthly or yearly. Reminders go by email or a shared message, and one group holds up to 200 people. Guests who are not on EvenOut can be added by name, and the Splitwise CSV import is free. The Pro plan covers receipt scanning and an assistant that drafts expenses for you to confirm.

Each expense keeps its own currency, and balances stay per currency. EvenOut is English only and needs a sign-in with Google or email. It suits groups that log a lot and want charts and repeats without paying.

Splitwise

Splitwise’s free plan lets you add up to 4 expenses each day, and Pro removes that limit. Pro also adds charts, expense search, currency conversion, receipt scanning and itemizing, default splits and an ad-free app.

On its free plan, Splitwise includes groups and friends, equal, unequal, percent and share splits, simplify debts, recurring expenses, offline mode and 100+ currencies. Pro comes as a monthly plan or an annual plan with a Trip Pass, which gives a trip group’s members Pro features for 30 days.

Say a 3-day weekend trip has 14 expenses a day, which is 42 entries. If one person adds all of them, 12 fit under the limit (3 days at 4) and 30 are left for a friend, the next day or a Pro plan.

Tricount

Tricount is free, and its website says it has no ads and no daily expense cap. Its terms say bunq B.V. owns and operates it. One tricount holds up to 50 people, you included, and expenses entered in another currency are converted at the market rate. It works offline and lists a Splitwise import.

Premium was discontinued, and that took CSV and PDF export with it. Tricount’s own comparison page says to add each recurring bill manually. It fits a group of up to 50 that needs currency conversion.

Settle Up

Settle Up’s free version has ads, and Premium removes them. Premium comes in two kinds. Individual is for you in every group, at $3.49 a month or $18.99 a year on Settle Up’s Premium page. Group covers every member of one group as a one-time purchase, from $5.49 for a week to $34.99 for a year and $134.99 for lifetime. Prices differ by where you buy.

Settle Up’s tips page says you can lower the cost by adding Group Premium as a group expense. A month at $13.99 split between 7 people is $2.00 each for six of them and $1.99 for the seventh. The free list includes offline use, all currencies with exchange rates, multiple payers, debt minimization you can turn off per group, and CSV export.

Splid

Splid’s site says it is free, and its US listing shows two in-app purchases, Splid Plus at $3.99 and 2 Groups at $2.99. Excel export is sold as an in-app purchase. No sign-up is required: a group stays on your device or is shared online with an access code.

It works offline, handles more than 150 currencies with automatic conversion, and says it always finds the easiest way to settle up with as few payments as possible.

KittySplit

A free Kitty holds up to 9 people, with no cap on expenses, comments or categories. It splits equally, by shares, by percentage or by fixed amounts, settles up in the fewest transfers and needs no account.

Super Kitty is €2.99 once per group, not a subscription. It raises the limit to 100 people and adds multiple currencies with conversion, default shares, receipt and photo attachments, per-category insights and a read-only link. A 10-person trip needs it, and €2.99 over 10 people is about €0.30 each. KittySplit also reads a Splitwise CSV export with a preview.

Three more apps

  • Splitkaro: its pricing page says the core app is free forever with no cap on expenses or friends, though its Free plan lists a limit on creating groups. Premium is $4 a month or $15 a year on its US page and ₹149 a month or ₹450 a year on its India page. Referring 3 friends also earns it. It imports Splitwise groups.
  • Spliit: a free web app that says “No ads. No account. Open Source. Forever Free.” Its recurring expenses (daily, weekly or monthly) and AI receipt scan are marked Beta. Its author lists the trade-offs: no notifications, no friends feature, and a new device that starts empty until you reopen your links. Its privacy policy adds that anyone with a group’s link can read and change it.
  • Splitser: called WieBetaaltWat in the Netherlands and Flanders. It says using the app is almost entirely free, with €0.35 per in-app payment through iDEAL or Bancontact. It holds 150 members per list, converts 150+ currencies in real time, has recurring expenses and a web app, exports CSV or PDF and imports Splitwise CSV files.

How do you choose?

For most groups, EvenOut is the pick: its free plan has no daily expense limit and no ads, and one group holds up to 200 people. These checks show when your group needs something else.

  • You log many expenses a day, or want no ads. EvenOut’s free plan has no daily expense limit and no ads. Splitwise’s free plan allows up to 4 expenses a day, and Settle Up’s free version has ads.
  • Your group is bigger than 9. EvenOut holds 200 people, Splitser 150 and Tricount 50. A free KittySplit holds up to 9.
  • You want charts, search and repeats without paying. EvenOut has all three free. Splitwise lists charts and search under Pro, and Settle Up lists charts and recurring transactions under Premium.
  • You need an export file. Splitwise exports a group to a spreadsheet. Settle Up lists CSV outside Premium, Splitser exports CSV or PDF and Splid offers PDF or Excel summaries. EvenOut has none.
  • You need currency conversion. Splitwise Pro, Tricount, Splid, Settle Up and Splitser convert. EvenOut does not.
  • You scan a lot of receipts. Splitkaro’s free plan scans 3 a month. In EvenOut and Splitwise, scanning is paid.

If your group matches the first three, EvenOut covers all of them, and moving a Splitwise group to EvenOut is free and takes one export file per group. For the daily cap alone, see Splitwise alternatives with no daily expense limit. For trips, the best apps to split trip expenses compares them on that job.

Frequently asked questions

Which expense splitting apps work for people who have not installed the app?

In EvenOut, open group settings, then Members, then Add people, and choose a guest. You track their share now and send a claim link later. Splitwise lets you add a friend by email or phone before they accept, and KittySplit and Spliit do not ask anyone for an account.

Can I move my Splitwise groups to another app for free?

Several apps list a Splitwise import: EvenOut, Tricount, Splitkaro, KittySplit and Splitser, and Settle Up describes one on its tips page. EvenOut's import is free. It takes one group per file and brings in expenses and payments with their dates and currencies, so export each group from Splitwise first.

What does EvenOut Pro cost, and do I need it?

EvenOut Pro is $9.99 a month or $79.99 a year in the US, which works out to $6.67 a month on the yearly plan, against $119.88 a year if you pay monthly. It covers receipt scanning and the assistant, and nothing else, so a group that adds expenses by hand never needs it.

Is there an expense splitting app that needs no sign-up at all?

In EvenOut, a guest added by name needs no account until they claim their spot, though you sign in with Google or email. Splid says no sign-up is required and shares a group through an access code. KittySplit needs no account to create or use a Kitty. Spliit needs none either, but anyone who has the link can read and change the group, so share it only with people in the group.

Sources

Checked October 6, 2026.

  • Splitwise: What is Splitwise Pro and who can use it?
  • Splitwise Pro
  • Splitwise: Why am I seeing an expense limit?
  • Splitwise: How do I export my data?
  • Splitwise: home page
  • Splitwise: terms
  • Tricount: home page
  • Tricount: What happened with tricount Premium?
  • Tricount: How can I manage my tricounts and expenses?
  • Tricount: terms and conditions
  • Settle Up: Premium
  • Settle Up: tips
  • Settle Up: store listing
  • Splid: home page
  • Splid: listing (US)
  • KittySplit: pricing
  • KittySplit: help
  • Splitkaro: pricing (India)
  • Splitkaro: pricing (US)
  • Splitkaro: features
  • Splitkaro: Splitwise vs Splitkaro
  • Splitkaro: Premium FAQ
  • Spliit: home page
  • Spliit: privacy policy
  • Spliit: why Spliit does not ask you to create an account
  • Splitser: support
  • Splitser: listing (US)
  • Splitser: Splitwise switch service

Keep reading

Split your next bill with EvenOut.

Free, no ads, no limits on groups or expenses. On Android now.

Get it on Google Play App Store Coming soon